Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Maryland Meals for Achievement

Maryland Meals for Achievement, a research based pilot program that provides a classroom breakfast to all students in the school, began in 1998 with six schools statewide.

Harvard University researchers have determined that the classroom breakfast program has a positive impact on student achievement. Researchers have evaluated the project’s impact on academics and behavior. They have found that classroom breakfast has a positive impact on Maryland School Assessment (MSA) test scores and grades. Researchers also credit classroom breakfast with improving student attendance by about two days per school year, decreasing tardiness and behavior problems, and increasing students’ attention spans.

MMFA is an important part of an overall healthy school environment.

  • School breakfast offers a wide variety of healthy foods, while meeting the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) meal regulations. A school breakfast includes whole grains, protein and fruit or 100% fruit juice.
  • Students look forward to a nutritious meal to start the day off right, making them healthier, happier, better behaved, and more productive throughout the day.

Montgomery County began MMFA in September 1999 with one school, South Lake Elementary School in Gaithersburg. The number has now grown to the 75 schools below:

Elementary Schools

Arcola Elementary
Bel Pre Elementary
Broad Acres Elementary
Brookhaven Elementary
Brown Station Elementary
Burnt Mills Elementary
Burtonsville Elementary
Cannon Road Elementary
Clopper Mill Elementary
Cresthaven Elementary
Capt. James E. Daly, Jr. Elementary
Dr. Charles R. Drew Elementary
East Silver Spring Elementary
Fairland Elementary
Flower Hill Elementary
Gaithersburg Elementary
Galway Elementary
Georgian Forest Elementary
Glen Haven Elementary
Glenallan Elementary
Goshen Elementary
Greencastle Elementary
Harmony Hills Elementary
Highland Elementary
Jackson Road Elementary
Kemp Mill Elementary
Lake Seneca Elementary
Maryvale Elementary
S. Christa McAuliffe Elementary
Meadow Hall Elementary
Mill Creek Towne Elementary
Montgomery Knolls Elementary
New Hampshire Estates Elementary
Roscoe E. Nix Elementary
Oak View Elementary
William Tyler Page Elementary
Pine Crest Elementary
Judith A. Resnik Elementary
Dr. Sally K. Ride Elementary
Rock View Elementary
Rolling Terrace Elementary
Rosemont Elementary
Sequoyah Elementary
R. Sargent Shriver Elementary
Flora M. Singer Elementary
South Lake Elementary
Stedwick Elementary
Strathmore Elementary
Strawberry Knolls Elementary
Summit Hall Elementary
Twinbrook Elementary
Viers Mill Elementary
Washington Grove Elementary
Waters Landing Elementary
Watkins Mill Elementary
Weller Road Elementary
Wheaton Woods Elementary
Whetstone Elementary

Middle Schools

Argyle Middle
Benjamin Banneker Middle
Briggs Chaney Middle
Eastern Middle
Forest Oak Middle
Gaithersburg Middle
Francis Scott Key Middle
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Middle
Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle
A. Mario Loiederman Middle
Montgomery Village Middle
Neelsville Middle
Newport Mill Middle
Parkland Middle
Shady Grove Middle
Sligo Middle
White Oak Middle

High Schools

Albert Einstein High
John F. Kennedy High
Watkins Mill High

Click here to log in