Charles Haughey, President Steve Abrams Sharon W. Cox, Vice President Valerie Ervin Sarah Horvitz Nancy Navarro Patricia O'Neill Gabriel Romero Jerry D. Weast, Superintendent

26.

27.

Jorge Careaga - Individual

Elizabeth Gamero - Individual

MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION AGENDA

850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville, MD 20850 301-279-3617 www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/boe

The mission of the Montgomery County Board of Education is to provide leadership and oversight for a high quality educational system with community-supported goals, policies, and resources committed to benefit our growing and diverse student population.

BUDGET HEARING

Meetings in 2006: Business Meeting: 16 Special Meeting: 3 Hearing: 5

Thursday, October 12, 2006, 7:00 p. m.

When a speaker begins, a green light will go on. Thirty seconds prior to the expiration of the speaker's time, a yellow light will go on. The red light and buzzer signal that the speaker's time has expired, and the speaker is not to continue beyond this point. Individuals and organizations may not cede time to others who have signed up. All speakers have been requested to provide 25 copies of their testimony. Please give these copies to staff (located at the right front of the auditorium) at the time of the speaker's presentation.

7:00 p.m.	Each speaker has three minutes
1.	Mamie Albrecht – Individual
2.	Jane de Winter – MCCPTA
3.	Stephanie Aramayo – Identity
4.	Francisco Cartagena – Identity
5.	Preston Rico – Asian American Parent Advocacy Council
6.	Deborah DeMille-Wagman – Whitman Cluster
7.	Joan Karasik – Transition Work Group
8.	Candace Kattar – Identity
9.	Carla Satinsky – League of Women Voters
10.	Beth Isen – Guidance Advisory Council at Whitman High School
11.	Enrique Zaldivar – Upcounty High School Magnet Group
12.	Amy Knobloch – Student, Richard Montgomery High School
13.	Jeff Hooke – Individual
14.	Mark Adelman – Montgomery County Civic Federation
15.	Teresa Jones – Wood Acres Elementary School PTA
16.	Evie Frankl – Montgomery County Education Forum & The Equity in Education Coalition
17.	Sharon Clink – Individual
18.	Marvin Weinman – Montgomery County Tax Payers League
19.	Bonnie Cullison – President of MCEA
20.	Susan Loftus – Individual
21.	Terrence McPherson – President of MCR
22.	Heather Borsum – Individual
23.	Sharon Barbee – Individual
24.	Linda Adelson – Individual
25.	Ellen Paul – Individual

28.	Liz Roth – The Arc Of Montgomery County, Education Committee
29.	Brian Roberts – Montgomery County Education Forum
30.	Diane McHale – Individual
31.	Michael Hagan – MCJC President
32.	Adrienne Balanc – Member of Cresthaven/Roscoe Nix PTA
33.	Lisa Carvallo – Individual
34.	Yichung Chung – Individual
35.	Nicholas Huson – Individual
36.	Corrina Shen – CCACC
37.	Milena Garfield – Individual
38.	Victor Salazar – Maryland International Corridor Youth Violence and Gang Prevention Networking Group
39.	Rebecca Newman, President of MCAASP
40.	Merle Cuttitta, President of SEIU, Local 500

Board Questions

9:30 p.m. Adjournment

This agenda is available in an alternative format upon request, under the Americans with Disabilities Act, by contacting the Public Information Office at 301-279-3391 or 1-800-735-2258 (Maryland Relay). Individuals who need special accommodations in communicating with the Board should call 301-279-3617.