Shirley Brandman, President Patricia O'Neill, **Vice President Christopher Barclay** Laura Berthiaume **Judith Docca** Michael Durso **Timothy Hwang** Philip Kavffman Jerry D. Weast, **Superintendent**

MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION **AGENDA**

850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville, MD 20850 301-279-3617 www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/boe BOE@mcpsmd.org

The mission of the Montgomery County Board of Education is to provide leadership and oversight for a high quality educational system with community-supported goals, policies, and resources committed to benefit our growing and diverse student population.

FACILITIES HEARING

Wednesday, November 11, 2009, 7:00 p.m.

When a speaker begins, a green light will go on. Thirty seconds prior to the expiration of the speaker's time, a yellow light will go on accompanied with a beep. The red light and buzzer signals that the speaker's time has expired, and the speaker is not to continue beyond this point. Individuals and organizations may not cede time to others who have signed up. All speakers have been requested to provide 25 copies of their testimony. Please give these copies to staff (located at the right front of the auditorium) at the time of the speaker's presentation. The Board will take final action on the boundaries, facilities, and the CIP at its meeting at 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, November 19, 2009.

7:00 p.m.	Kay Romero, President, MCCPTA	5 minutes
7:05	Municipalities and Countywide Organizations (5 minutes) Jeffrey Slavin, Mayor, Town of Somerset Sidney Katz, Mayor, City of Gaithersburg	5 minutes 5 minutes
7:15	Students/Individuals (3 minutes) Margot Bloch, student Anna Brookes, student Lily Kirsch, student Noa Myers, student Kira Goo, student Heather DeMocker, student Brenda Platt Nadine Bloch Judith Koenick	
	Board Questions	

Downcounty Consortium

7:45	Northwood Cluster – Mary Abe	10 minutes
	Kennedy Cluster (no oral testimony)	5 minutes
7:55	Einstein Cluster – Kelly Giblin	5 minutes
8:00	Montgomery Blair Cluster – Bladimir Duenas	15 minutes
8:15	Wheaton Cluster – Mary Anne Gadbois	5 minutes
	Board Questions	
8:25	Watkins Mill Cluster – Martha Crews	5 minutes

8:30	Magruder Cluster – Patrick Dunn	5 minutes
8:35	Gaithersburg Cluster – Steve Augustino	5 minutes
8:40	Clarksburg Cluster – Jaimie Jacobson	5 minutes
8:45	Damascus Cluster – Dawn Lee	5 minutes
	Board Questions	
8:55	Board Questions Whitman Cluster – Keith Parsky	5 minutes
8:55 9:00		5 minutes 5 minutes

Board Questions

9:15 **Individuals** (3 minutes each)

- 1. Bob Hydron, President, Montgomery Village Foundation
- 2. Stacey Erlenbach
- 3. Scott Joftus
- 4. Janis Sartucci
- 5. Joann Scribner
- 6. Debbie Spielberg
- 7. Liz King
- 8. Peter Gimbrere
- 9. Bruce Hawkins

Board Questions

- 10. Lindsay Hoffman
- 11. Stacey Palosky
- 12. Valerie Valentine
- 13. Karen FitzGerald

10:00 p.m. *Adjournment*

This agenda is available in an alternative format upon request, under the Americans with Disabilities Act, by contacting the Public Information Office at 301-279-3391 or 1-800-735-2258 (Maryland Relay). Individuals who need special accommodations in communicating with the Board should call 301-279-3617.