Patricia O'Neill,
President
Christopher Barclay,
Vice President
Laura Berthiaume
Shirley Brandman
Judith Docca
Michael Durso
Timothy Hwang
Philip Kauffman
Jerry D. Weast,
Superintendent

MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION AGENDA

850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville, MD 20850 301-279-3617 BOE@mcpsmd.org

www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/boe

OPERATING BUDGET HEARING

FY 2011

The mission of the Montgomery County Board of Education is to provide leadership and oversight for a high quality educational system with community-supported goals, policies, and resources committed to benefit our growing and diverse student population.

Wednesday, January 20, 2010, 7:00 p.m.

When a speaker begins, a green light will go on. Thirty seconds prior to the expiration of the speaker's time, a yellow light will go on accompanied by a beep. The red light and buzzer signal that the speaker's time has expired, and the speaker is not to continue beyond this point. Individuals and organizations may not cede time to others who have signed up. All speakers have been requested to provide 25 copies of their testimony. If you have not already provided copies, please give these copies to staff (located at the right front of the auditorium) at the time of the speaker's presentation. The Board will have worksessions on the budget on January 27 and 28. Final adoption of the proposed budget is scheduled for February 9, 2010.

Designated organizations/municipalities/elected officials/clusters will receive 5 minutes for testimony; individuals will receive 3 minutes each for testimony.

7:00 p.m. Sydney Katz, Mayor of the City of Gaithersburg

Vanessa Trinh / Caitlin Augerson, MCR/MCJC

Doug Prouty, Montgomery County Education Association

Becky Newman, Montgomery County Association of Administrative Personnel

Merle Cuttitta, SEIU Local 500

Robert Monsheimer, Montgomery County Taxpayers League

Soffie Ceesay, NAACP Parents Council

Board Questions

7:40 Sabrina Flores, Student

Katie Anderson, Student Jennifer Dunn, Student Kate Weishaar, Student Esi Waters. Student

Christina McCann, Student Kelly Wright, Student Sareana Kimia, Student

Stephanie Weishaar, Parent

Board Questions

8:15 Whitman Cluster: Keith Parsky

Bethesda-Chevy Chase Cluster: Joy White

Wheaton Cluster: Kelly Eiskant

Board Questions

Board of Education January 20, 2010

8:35 Northwood Cluster: Jennifer Chambers

Kennedy Cluster: Frances Frost Einstein Cluster: Kelly Giblin Blair Cluster: Susan Fleck

Board Questions

9:00 Wootton Cluster: Rich Edelman Rockville Cluster: Roy Broussard

Richard Montgomery Cluster: Lara Turner

Churchill Cluster: Laura Siegel

Board Questions

9:25 Individuals and Organizations (3 minutes each)

- 1. Jean Sherer
- 2. Richard Dorsey
- 3. Phil Welsh
- 4. Sherry Dionne
- 5. Bob Astrove
- 6. Don Moskowitz
- 7. Ricki Sabia
- 8. Eric Marx
- 9. Sharon Schlaffer
- 10. Amelia Gotti
- 11. Cecily Adams
- 12. Maria Dudish

Board Questions

- 13. Eric Cole
- 14. Alma Orellana
- 15. Mike Dinkin
- 16. Nuri Funes
- 17. Tom Jacobson
- 18. Bithadon Mesali
- 19. Judith Amick / Brenda Barbour
- 20. Eric Carter
- 21. Peter Lafen
- 22. Megan Scribner
- 23. Amber Khan

Board Questions

10:30 p.m. Adjournment