Christopher Barclay, President Philip Kauffman, Vice President Shirley Brandman Judith Docca Michael Durso John Mannes Patricia O'Neill Rebecca Smondrowski Joshua P. Starr, Superintendent

MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION AGENDA

OPERATING

BUDGET

HEARING

850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville, MD 20850 301-279-3617 www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/boe

The mission of the Montgomery County Board of Education is to provide leadership and oversight for a high quality educational system with community-supported goals, policies, and resources committed to benefit our growing and diverse student population.

Thursday, January 17, 2013, 7:00 p.m.

When a speaker begins, a green light will go on. Thirty seconds prior to the expiration of the speaker's time, a yellow light will go on accompanied by a beep. The red light and buzzer signal that the speaker's time has expired, and the speaker is not to continue beyond this point. Individuals and organizations may not cede time to others who have signed up. All speakers have been requested to provide 20 copies of their testimony. Please give these copies to staff (located at the right front of the auditorium) at the time of the speaker's presentation. The Board will have work sessions on the budget on January 22 and 24. Final adoption of the proposed budget is scheduled for February 12, 2013.

7:00 p.m.	Jerry Klobukowski: Commissioner of Poolesville	5 minutes
	Board Questions	
7:10	Ruby Rubens: 1977 - II Group	3 minutes
	Doug Prouty: Montgomery County Education Association Montgomery County Association of Administrators and Principals SEIU Local 500	5 minutes
	Cecilia Otero: ESOL Bilingual Advisory Committee	3 minutes
	Jeffrey He: MCR	5 minutes
	Prim Phoolsombat: MCJC	5 minutes
	<u>Students</u> Touré Burgess: Commission on Children and Youth Cassidy Kennington (School Lunches) Alessandra Onorati (School Lunches) Michael Saunders (Gaithersburg – B.R.O.T.H.E.R.S.) Raheem Lee (Gaithersburg – B.R.O.T.H.E.R.S.) Thomas Armooh (Gaithersburg – B.R.O.T.H.E.R.S.)	3 minutes
	Robert Monsheimer: Montgomery County Taxpayers League	5 minutes
	Board Questions	
8:05	Churchill Cluster: Melanie Twomey	5 minutes
	Poolesville Cluster: Donna Lowell	5 minutes
	Richard Montgomery Cluster: Jennifer Young	5 minutes
	Rockville Cluster: Dylan Presman	5 minutes
	Board Questions	

8:30	Blair Cluster: Kathy Larin	5 minutes
	Einstein Cluster: Scott Harper	5 minutes
	Kennedy Cluster: Francis Frost	5 minutes
	Northwood Cluster: Yolanda Mazyck	5 minutes
	Watkins Mill Cluster: Sumbal Sheldon	5 minutes
	Board Questions	
9:00	Wheaton Cluster: Shebra Evans	5 minutes
9:00	Wheaton Cluster: Shebra Evans Bethesda-Chevy Chase Cluster: Laurie Rosen	5 minutes 5 minutes
9:00		

Board Questions

9:25 Individuals and Organizations (3 minutes each)

- 1. Christopher Lage: Sligo Creek Elementary School Parent Group
- 2. Elizabeth Capuzzo-Peixoto
- 3. Tom Hearn
- 4. Paula Puglisi: Elementary School Counselors
- 5. Patty Winters: Substance Abuse Prevention
- 6. Ella Davani: Curriculum 2.0
- 7. Nadine Shrager: Curriculum 2.0
- 8. Donna Evans: Substance Abuse Prevention
- 9. Sharif Robinson: Student Eligibility
- 10. Lisa Lowe: Substance Abuse Prevention
- 11. Marquise Willis
- 12. Susan Holland: Middle School Magnet Programs
- 13. Russ Bundy

Board Questions

10:15 p.m. Adjournment