Rockville, Maryland APPROVED 44-1982 November 18, 1982 The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Thursday, November 18, 1982, at 8 p.m. Present: Mrs. Eleanor D. Zappone, President in ROLL CALL the Chair Mr. Richard L. Claypoole Mr. Blair G. Ewing Mrs. Carol F. Wallace Mr. Joseph R. Barse Absent: Dr. Marian L. Greenblatt Mr. Kurt Hirsch Mrs. Suzanne K. Peyser County Council: Mr. Neal Potter, President Mrs. Rose Crenca Mr. Michael Gudis Mr. David Scull Mrs. Ruth Spector County Executive: Dr. Daryl W. Shaw, representing Mr. Gilchrist Others Present: Dr. Edward Andrews, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Harry Pitt, Deputy Superintendent Dr. James E. Cronin, Board Member-elect Mrs. Odessa M. Shannon, Board Member-elect

Re: Announcements

Mrs. Zappone announced that Mr. Barse, Dr. Greenblatt, Mr. Hirsch, and Mrs. Peyser would be unable to attend the hearing but had agreed to read all the statements submitted. Mr. Gudis announced that Mr. Fosler and Mrs. Gelman were unable to attend the hearing.

> Re: Public Hearing on Capital Budget Proposals for the School and Fiscal Year Ending June 30, 1984

The following individuals appeared to testify: 1. Mr. Norman Christeller, Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission 2. Mrs. Catherine McAuliffe, Whitman High School PTSA

- 3. Mrs. Cynda Wilcox, Whitman Cluster
- 4. Ms. Vicki Lively, Fox Chapel Elementary School PTA
- 5. Mrs. Janice Lindsay, New School for Germantown Committee
- 6. Mr. Stanley Ehrlich, Northwood High School PTSA

Mrs. Zora Camp, Springbrook High School PTSA 7. Mr. Robert Prien, Martin Luther King Junior High School PTA 8. 9. Senator Frank Church, Kenwood Park Citizens Association 10. Mr. Ted Cortner, Montgomery County Federation of Teachers Mrs. Linda Judd, Woodfield Elementary School PTA 11. 12. Mr. Robert Schwartz, Germantown Elementary School PTA 13. Mr. Warren Rumble, Whittier Woods Civic Association Mr. Tom Milke, Churchill Village South Homeowners Association 14. Ms. Lynn Berkeley, Oak View Elementary School PTA 15. 16. Mr. Owen Katzman, Woodward High School PTSA 17. Ms. Mary McCary, Individual 18. Mr. David Scaggs, Individual 19. Mr. Steve King and Mr. Richard Goozh, Woodward High School SGA 20. Mr. James Baliles, Individual 21. Mrs. Sally Kaplan, Huntington Terrace Neighborhood Association Mrs. Joan Jacobs, Hillmead Neighborhood Association 22. 23. Mr. James Nelson, Bradley Hills Elementary School PTA 24. Mr. Bruce Snyder, Individual Mr. David Horak, Washington Grove Elementary School PTA 25. Mr. Ben Goldman, Individual 26. 27. Mr. David Morganstein, Washington Apple Pi 28. Dr. David Montgomery, Individual 29. Mrs. Lois Antos, Woodlin Elementary School PTA Mr. Don Phillips, Einstein Boosters Club 30. 31. Mr. Harry Burchette, Wootton Physical Education Department 32. Mr. Jim Kordenbrock, Wootton Boosters Club 33. Mr. Pat Kennedy, Individual

34. Dr. David Eberly, Montgomery County Education Association

Re: Adjournment

The president adjourned the meeting at 10:50 p.m.

President

Secretary

EA:mlw