The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Monday, January 17, 1983, at 7:35 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Mr. Blair G. Ewing, President in the Chair

Dr. James E. Cronin Mr. Kurt Hirsch

Mrs. Suzanne K. Peyser Mrs. Marilyn J. Praisner Mrs. Odessa M. Shannon Dr. Robert E. Shoenberg

Absent: Dr. Marian L. Greenblatt

Others Present: Dr. Edward Andrews, Superintendent of

Schools

Dr. Harry Pitt, Deputy Superintendent Mr. Thomas S. Fess, Parliamentarian

Re: Public Hearing on FY 1984 Operating
Budget

Mr. Ewing announced that Dr. Greenblatt was unable to attend the hearing but would read all the testimony.

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Carolyn Snowden, Montgomery County Community Action Board
- 2. Marilyn Greenspan, Mental Health Association of Montgomery County
- 3. Marian Hull, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority
- 4. Bea Strike, Michael Kanagy, and Sara Read, Montgomery County Math Association
- 5. Donna Holt, Luxmanor Elementary School PTA
- 6. Charlotte Parsons, Brown Station Elementary School PTA
- 7. Charolotte Joseph and Janice Fife, Parent Involvement in Basic Skills
- 8. Elena Ripken, Brookhaven Elementary School PTA
- 9. Samuel Cushman, Olney Elementary School PTA
- 10. Marilyn Shapiro, individual
- 11. Judy Levy, Montgomery County Children and Adults with Learning Disabilities
- 12. Ellen Hope, Thomas W. Pyle Intermediate School PTSA
- 13. Joan Karasik, Montgomery County Association for Retarded Citizens
- 14. Shirley Yalowitz, Seven Locks Elementary School PTA
- 15. Vicki Lively, Fox Chapel Elementary School PTA
- 16. Judith Borten, Special and Alternative Education Advisory Committee
- 17. Ken Rashid, Wayside Elementary School PTA
- 18. Willa Callen, Advisory Committee for Counseling and Guidance
- 19. Vicki Bowers, Parents Advisory Group for Instructional Program

- in Reading/Language Arts
- 20. Vivian D'Souza, Summit Hall Elementary School PTA
- 21. Diane Reese, Gaithersburg Junior High School PTA
- 22. William Rice, Greater Washington Organization for Government Funding of Social Services
- 23. Barbara Titland, Montgomery County Council of Parent-Teacher Associations (Area 3)
- 24. Donna Zetts, individual
- 25. Ann Rose, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School PTSA
- 26. Nancy Shaplin, Peary High School PTSA
- 27. Catherine Derby, Montgomery County Association of Administrative and Supervisory Personnel
- 28. David Levin, Churchill High School PTSA
- 29. Paula Hein, Bells Mill Elementary School PTA
- 30. Joan Hoefling, Stonegate Elementary School PTA
- 31. Judy Tankersley, individual
- 32. Judy Hagar, Longview School PTA
- 33. Betty Garvey, Concord School PTA
- 34. Robin McIntyre, Stephen Knolls School PTA
- 35. Vincent Foo, Montgomery County Council of Supporting Services Employees

Re: Adjournment

The president adjourned the meeting at 10:45 p.m.

President

Secretary

EA:mlw