testimony.

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Wednesday, Januray 19, 1983, at 7 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Mr. Blair G. Ewing, President in the

Chair

Dr. James E. Cronin Mrs. Marilyn J. Praisner Mrs. Odessa M. Shannon Dr. Robert E. Shoenberg

Absent: Dr. Marian L. Greenblatt

Mr. Kurt Hirsch

Mrs. Suzanne K. Peyser

Others Present: Dr. Edward Andrews, Superintendent of

Schools

Dr. Harry Pitt, Deputy Superintendent Mr. Thomas S. Fess, Parliamentarian

Re: Public Hearing on FY 1984 Operating Budget

Mr. Ewing announced that Dr. Greenblatt and Mrs. Peyser were unable to be present but would read all the testimony. Mr. Hirsch was studying for a countywide final examination but would read all the

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Joseph Gezelter, individual
- 2. Edward Benz and Frances Hall, The Other Way
- 3. Michael Calderaro, Bel Pre Elementary PTA
- 4. Pat Stabler, Laytonsville Elementary PTA
- 5. Margot Durkin, Mill Creek Towne Elementary PTA
- 6. Harriet White, Montgomery County Art Education Association
- 7. Elizabeth Goodman, Damascus High School PTSA
- 8. Adrian DeWitt, SSAA Junior/Intermediate/Middle School Committee
- 9. Stephen Grebe, Garrett Park Elementary PTA
- 10. Pamela Roddy, Carderock Springs Elementary PTA
- 11. Arthur Cole, Glen Haven Elementary PTA
- 12. Carla Satinsky, League of Women Voters
- 13. Vicki Kley, Wootton High PTSA
- 14. Elaine Goldberg, Beall Elementary PTA
- 15. Harriet Shub, Georgetown Hill Elementary PTA
- 16. Pam Kline, McKenney Hills Learning Center
- 17. Catherine McAuliffe, Walt Whitman High PTSA
- 18. John Burton, individual
- 19. Linda Nelson, Wyngate Elementary PTA
- 20. Kathryn Wortman, individual
- 21. Janet Bykowski, MCCPTA Special Needs Committee

- 22. Lois Williams, Area 2 Advisory Committee for Gifted and Talented
- 23. Gerald Murphy and John Paul, Auto Trades Foundation
- 24. George Reese, Belmont Elementary School PTA
- 25. Barbara Contrera, Elementary School Principals Association
- 26. Ellen Jay, Montgomery County Educational Media Specialists
- 27. Diane Dowd, Chapter I Parent Advisory Council
- 28. Marianne Kleiner, Westover Elementary PTA
- 29. Mary Jo Mountain, Richard Montgomery High PTSA
- 30. Charles Gilmore, individual
- 31. Zora Camp, Springbrook High PTSA
- 32. Roscoe Nix, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People
- 33. Jingle Lutz, Montgomery County Gifted and Talented Association
- 34. Joanne Peck and Carolyne Starek, Professional Development and Educational Instruction Committee
- 35. Thomas Robertson, Walter Johnson High PTSA
- 36. Steve Lebling and Clyde Haven, Construction Trades Foundation
- 37. Diane Ippolito, Advisory Committee for Gifted and Talented
- 38. Regina Greenspon, individual
- 39. Suzanne Carbone, Montgomery County Council of Parent-Teacher Association
- 40. Larry Shulman, Vocational Trades Foundation
- 41. Jackie Mendelsohn, Auditory Program
- 42. Carolyn Post, Vision Parent Task Force
- 43. Gail Ferguson, Gaithersburg Elementary School Home-School Organization
- 44. Emilio P. Rivas, Spanish Speaking Community of Md., Inc.

Re: Adjournment

The president adjourned the meeting at 11:15 p.m.

President

Secretary

EA:mlw