Rockville, Maryland January 20, 1987

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Tuesday, January 20, 1987 at 7:30 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Mrs. Marilyn J. Praisner, President

in the Chair

Mrs. Sharon DiFonzo Mr. Blair G. Ewing Mr. Bruce A. Goldensohn Dr. Robert E. Shoenberg Mrs. Mary Margaret Slye

Mr. Eric Steinberg

Absent: Dr. James E. Cronin

Others Present: Dr. Wilmer S. Cody, Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Harry Pitt, Deputy Superintendent Mr. Thomas S. Fess, Parliamentarian

Re: PUBLIC HEARING FY 1988 OPERATING BUDGET

The following individuals appeared before the members of the Board of Education:

- 1. Lindy Rizzo, Gaithersburg Cluster
- 2. Ann Day, Damascus Elementary School PTA
- 3. Babette Margolies, Rockville Cluster
- 4. Kathleen Carey, Parents for Integrated School and Community Education Services (PISCES)
- 5. David Kahn, Montgomery County Social Studies Teachers
- 6. Kay Davis, Blair Advisory Committee
- 7. Carol Fanconi, Gaithersburg High School PTSA
- 8. Trish Kelly, individual
- 9. Cindy Brandt, Parents of Gifted Learning Disabled Children
- 10. Marilyn Berger, Gifted and Talented Association
- 11. Diane Jones/Velma Buckner, PADI Advisory Committee
- 12. John Donaldson, Sherwood High School PTSA
- 13. Magdalena Dubois, Farquhar Middle School PTA
- 14. Denise Boswell, Belmont Elementary School PTA
- 15. Celie Gerstenzang, Olney Elementary School PTA
- 16. Howard Zuses, Sherwood Elementary School PTA
- 17. Rose Bernstein, Phoenix Program
- 18. Mark Simon, MCEA
- 19. David Schreiber, Rock Creek Forest Elementary School PTA
- 20. Michael McCann, Rock Creek Valley Elementary School PTA
- 21. Roscoe Nix, NAACP
- 22. Joan Karasik, Association for Retarded Citizens
- 23. Marge Samels, Mental Health Association
- 24. Steve Zepnick, Chapter I
- 25. Andrew Nelson, Clopper Mill Elementary School PTA
- 26. Shannon Miller, Montgomery County Regional, SGA

- 27. Debbie Plakas, Twinbrook Elementary School PTA
- 28. Jan Rueter, Magruder Cluster
- 29. Marti Szczur, Wyngate Elementary School PTA
- 30. Claire Iseli, Paint Branch Cluster
- 31. Betty Jo Gemmill, Fairland Elementary School PTA
- 32. Cynda Wilcox, Walt Whitman Cluster
- 33. Stan and Laura Way, The Other Way
- 34. Alan Cheung, Organization of Chinese Americans
- 35. Dhinh Phan, ESOL
- 36. Reyna Cruz, individual
- 37. Emilio Perche-Rivas, Hispanic Community
- 38. Joel Cantor, Montgomery County Drug Abuse Advisory Council
- 39. Donald Meek, Montgomery County Alcoholism Advisory Council

Re: ADJOURNMENT

The president adjourned the meeting at 11:15 p.m.

President	
Secretary	

WSC:msl