APPROVED Rockville, Maryland 5-1987 January 21, 1987 The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Wednesday, January 21, 1987, at 7:30 p.m. ROLL CALL Present: Mrs. Marilyn J. Praisner, President in the Chair Mrs. Sharon DiFonzo Mr. Blair G. Ewing Mr. Bruce A. Goldensohn Dr. Robert E. Shoenberg Mrs. Mary Margaret Slye Absent: Dr. James E. Cronin Mr. Eric Steinberg Others Present: Dr. Wilmer S. Cody, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Harry Pitt, Deputy Superintendent Mr. Thomas S. Fess, Parliamentarian Re: ANNOUNCEMENT Mrs. Praisner announced that Dr. Cronin was out of town on business. Re: PUBLIC HEARING ON FY 1988 OPERATING BUDGET The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education: 1. The Honorable Steven Van Grack, Mayor, City of Rockville 2. Phyllis Feldman, Kennedy Cluster 3. Donna Wilcox, Einstein Cluster 4. Vickie Bishton, Oakland Terrace Elementary School PTA 5. Judy Treanor, Highland Elementary School PTA 6. Tom Kean, Glen Haven Elementary School PTA 7. Janet Alward, Sligo Middle School PTA 8. Cordie Goldstein, Einstein High School PTSA 9. Bob Perry, Bethesda-Chevy Chase Cluster 10. John Horman, individual 11. Gail Edie, Westbrook Elementary School PTA 12. Kathleen Maher, Somerset Elementary School PTA 13. Peter Galvin, Rosemary Hills Elementary School PTA 14. Carol Binta, Rosemary Hills Community Association 15. Ellen Hoffman, Wheaton High School PTSA and Parkland Junior PTA 16. Kathy Greenfield, Brookhaven Elementary School PTA 17. Dan Doherty, Harmony Hills Elementary School PTA 18. Bob Quinones, Viers Mill Elementary School PTA 19. Pat Swanson, Weller Road Elementary School PTA 20. Dan Jones, Wheaton Woods Elementary School PTA 21. Terrie Daniels, Monocacy Elementary School PTA 22. Judith Swingler, individual 23. Sandy Gomila, individual 24. Jane Hardy, Montgomery County Educational Media Specialists

Association

- 25. Vicky Bowers, Parents Advisory Committee for Reading/Language Arts
- 26. Maxine Pagliano, Chevy Chase Elementary School PTA
- 27. Carolyn Post, Montgomery County Commission on Handicapped Individuals
- 28. Lib Boone, Secondary School Administrators Association
- 29. Lael Shea, Rock View Elementary School PTA
- 30. Andrea Hannum, Richard Montgomery High School PTSA
- 31. Mary Lou Martin, College Gardens Elementary School PTA
- 32. Eugene Thirolf, Beall Elementary School PTA
- 33. Karen Baker, Julius West Middle School PTSA
- 34. Sara Reed, Math Resource Teachers
- 35. Karen Rabin, Montgomery County Math Teachers Association
- 36. Diane Graham, Counseling and Guidance Advisory Committee
- 37. Nancy Perkins, Elementary School Administrators Association

Re: ADJOURNMENT

The president adjourned the meeting at 10:55 p.m.

PRESIDENT

SECRETARY

WSC:mlw