The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Thursday, January 18 1996, at 7:30 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Ms. Ana Sol Gutiérrez, President

in the Chair
Dr. Alan Cheung
Mr. Blair G. Ewing
Mr. Reginald Felton
Mrs. Beatrice B. Gordon

Mrs. Nancy King

Mr. Charles McCullough

Absent: Mr. Stephen Abrams

Others Present: Dr. Paul L. Vance, Superintendent

Mrs. Katheryn W. Gemberling, Deputy Mr. Larry A. Bowers, Acting Deputy

Re: PUBLIC HEARING ON OPERATING BUDGET

PROPOSALS FOR THE SCHOOL AND FISCAL

YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 1997

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Donovan Chase, Student from Montgomery Blair High School
- 2. Robert W. McCann, Fixed Charges Budget Review Group
- 3. Ramona Ahmed, Dan Schultz, Sara Pullen, Kennedy Cluster
- 4. Kathy Parnell, Magruder Cluster
- 5. Debbie Camp, Paint Branch Cluster
- 6. Craig Falk, Rockville Cluster
- 7. John Vogel, Sherwood Cluster
- 8. Richard Helgeson, Springbrook Cluster
- 9. John Taylor, Wheaton Cluster
- 10. Richard Weaver, Montogmery County Association for Hearing Impaired Children
- 11. Cathy Witchie, Individual
- 12. Brad Bass, Individual
- 13. Karen Craney, Pupil Personnel Workers Association
- 14. Kimberly Sloan, Montgomery County School Psychologists Association
- 15. Billy Lee, MCR
- 16. Churck Short and Stephen Sturgeon, Visually Impaired Student Advisory Board

- 17. Anne Turner, Individual
- 18. Bob Astrove, Parents for Options in Special Education
- 19. Lyda Astrove, Individual
- 20. Stuart Graff, Alliance for the Mentally III of Montgomery County
- 21. Doug Moritz, Using Networks to Link Our Children to Computers (UNLOCC)
- 22. Elizabeth Roth, Special Edcuation Advisory Committee
- 23. Barry Watkins, Individual
- 24. Joan Karasik, ARC of Montgomery County
- 25. Joan Karasik, Montgomery County Collaboration Council for Children, Youth, and Families
- 26. Steve Lanham Tarason, MCAASP
- 27. Sheila Dobbins, SSAA
- 28. Jane Butler and Fred Greene, ESAA
- 29. John Munson, Montgomery County Commission on People with Disabilities
- 30. Laura Steinberg, Silver Spring Alliance
- 31. Linda Plummer, NAACP

Re: ADJOURNMENT

The president adjourned the meeting at 11:57 p.m.

President		
Secretary		

PLV:gr