APPROVED 37-2004

Rockville, Maryland November 11, 2004

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Thursday, November 11, 2004, at 7:00 p.m.

| Present: | Ms. Sharon W. Cox, President in the Chair Dr. Charles Haughey Mr. Walter Lange Mrs. Patricia B. O'Neill Mr. Gabe Romero Mr. Sagar Sanghvi, Student Board Member Dr. Jerry Weast, Secretary/Treasurer |
|----------|---|
| Absent: | Mr. Kermit V. Burnett Mr. Steve Abrams, Board Member-Elect Ms. Valerie Ervin, Board Member-Elect |

Re: PUBLIC HEARING ON THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENTS PROGRAM AND BOUNDARIES

The following people testified before the Board of Education:

- 1. Jerry Klobukowski, Commissioners of Poolesville
- 2. Sonya Leamon, Damascus Cluster
- 3. Linda Dutka, Gaithersburg Cluster
- 4. Susie Scofield, Magruder Cluster
- 5. Allyson Morrison, Watkins Mill Cluster
- 6. Lauren Haven, Northwest Cluster
- 7. Jim Keenan, Quince Orchard Cluster
- 8. Jud Ashman, Kingsview Middle School
- 9. Lisa Watts, Ridgeview Middle School
- 10. Mark O'Connor, Brown Station Elementary School
- 11. Roy Fleischer, Rachel Carson Elementary School
- 12. Susan Gordon, Darnestown Elementary School
- 13. Kevin Gil, Diamond Elementary School
- 14. Tracy Solheim, Fields Road Elementary School
- 15. Bob Onsi, Jones Lane Elementary School
- 16. Lauren Haven, Spark Matsunaga Elementary School
- 17. Paul Morrison, Thurgood Marshall Elementary School
- 18. Bob Weishaar, Ronald A. McNair Elementary School
- 19. Liz Smith, Poolesville Cluster
- 20. Juan Johnson, Seneca Valley Cluster

- 21. Phil Kauffman, Northeast Consortium
- 22. Ellen Salins, Blake Cluster
- 23. Mary Edwards, Paint Branch Cluster
- 24. Melissa Rosenberg, Springbrook Cluster
- 25. Melissa Rosenberg, Francis Scott Key Middle School
- 26. Patt Silverthorn, White Oak Middle School
- 27. Dawn Dolan, William H. Farquhar Middle School
- 28. Mary Tucker, Brooke Grove Elementary School
- 29. Betsy Sirk, Cloverly Elementary School
- 30. Deborah Weiner, Cresthaven Elementary School
- 31. Richard Lithgow, Dr. Charles R. Drew Elementary School
- 32. Liana Asim, Jackson Road Elementary School
- 33. Cara Brockmeyer, Stonegate Elementary School
- 34. Barbara Werfel, Sherwood Elementary School
- 35. Michele Cade, Westover Elementary School
- 36. Tracey Dodson, Cannon Road Elementary School
- 37. Sharon St. Pierre, Sherwood Cluster
- 38. Jim Nickerson
- 39. Dohi Shin
- 40. Dorothy Eyerly
- 41. Tami Mensch and Debbi Asher
- 42. Joan Moeltner
- 43. Mindy Saffer
- 44. Don Campbell
- 45. Scott Jamison
- 46. JoAnn Shimpkee, President, West Riding Citizens Association
- 47. Darnell Daisey, Hampshire Green HOA
- 48. David Shin
- 49. Jerry Stringum
- 50. Debbie Murphy
- 51. Wayne Goldstein, MC Civic Federation
- 52. Al Dimatteo
- 53. Stephen Szot
- 54. Kate Marley-Emery
- 55. Shannon Arnold
- 56. David Jones
- 57. William Hunn
- 58. Dave Shelhardt
- 59. Steve Bolen
- 60. Fran Simons
- 61. Martin Cunniff
- 62. Gareth Owen

- 63. Debbie Kirkland
- 64. Julio Pena
- 65. Janet Webb
- 66. Vicki Webb
- 67. Sam Silverstein
- 68. Patsy Hurst-Moore
- 69. Julia Caswell Daitch
- 70. Mimi Brody
- 71. Ron Schwartz, Quince Orchard Park HOA

The Board of Education asked the following questions:

- 1. Mr. Lange noted that many clusters testified about maintenance issues. He encouraged cluster coordinators to work with principals to make sure that work orders for maintenance have been requested.
- 2. Dr. Haughey heard concerns about pedestrian accidents in the vicinity of schools. He wanted more information about incidents under school-related circumstances.
- 3. Regarding Watkins Mill Elementary School, Mr. Romero asked if the media center could be enlarged. Mr. Lavorgna replied that enlarging the media center is part of the educational specifications and will be done as part of the project.
- 4. Ms. Cox requested an update on the IAQ situation at Washington Grove Elementary School with the timeline and any flexibility in that timeline.
- 5. Regarding Thurgood Marshall Elementary School, Mr. Romero asked about the concerns of the fire marshal. Were those issues addressed as part of the comprehensive evaluation?
- 6. Regarding Seneca Valley High School and Fox Chapel Elementary School, Mr. Romero asked for a brief explanation of the FACT assessment. Mr. Lavorgna explained the process and noted that all schools have not been assessed due to the backlog of renovations and modernizations.
- 7. Mr. Lange inquired about the differences in bus mileage for Option 1 and Option 4 for the boundaries of Quince Orchard Middle School #2. Also, he wanted specific statistics on transportation's safety record.
- 8. Mrs. O'Neill asked if there was a budget for boundary studies. Mr. Lavorgna replied that there are no separate costs for studies.

- 9. Regarding Paint Branch High School, Mr. Lange asked for the costs associated with auditorium lighting and replacement of the paving in the courtyard.
- 10. Mr. Lange asked about securing medications at William H. Farquhar Middle School.
- 11. Mr. Lange inquired about the slippery floor conditions at William H. Farquhar Middle School.
- 12. Ms. Cox wanted information on the request for traffic studies in the Banneker/Briggs Chaney testimony. What is the relationship of the school system and the other government agencies in conducting traffic studies?
- 13. Mrs. O'Neill noted that homeowners from Hampshire Greens Citizens Association stated that the Board assigned Hampshire Greens to a school to racially isolate this community. It was her understanding that the region was assigned school attendance areas prior to the development of the community. Mr. Lavorgna explained that when the boundaries were adjusted for the creation of the Northeast Consortium, the area now known as Hampshire Greens was assigned to Drew/Key. There was no way to predict the racial composition of the community prior to the development being built and populated.
- 14. Mrs. O'Neill asked if there were other schools where students travel further than 9.6 miles. Mr. Lavorgna stated that some of the schools in rural areas of Montgomery County have students that travel farther.
- 15. Mrs. O'Neill asked if the Llewellyn Manor Way is assigned to White Oak Middle School even though the community is closer to William H. Farquhar Middle School.
- 16. Mr. Lange remarked that he was impressed by the attendance of people interested in boundaries and facilities. However, he hoped that parents and community members would be more intent on offering their input for educational planning and programs.
- 17. Regarding Dr. Nickerson's testimony, Dr. Haughey asked for a history on the assignment of Drew's students to middle schools.
- 18. Dr. Haughey asked for the present and anticipated diversity in three middle schools William H. Farquhar, Francis Scott Key, and White Oak.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:00 p.m.

SECRETARY

JDW:gr