APPROVED 34-2005

Rockville, Maryland November 10, 2005

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Thursday, November 10, 2005, at 10:05 a.m.

Present:	 Mrs. Patricia B. O'Neill, President in the Chair Mr. Steve Abrams Ms. Sharon W. Cox Ms. Valerie Ervin Dr. Charles Haughey Mrs. Nancy Navarro Mr. Sebastian Johnson, Student Board Member Dr. Jerry Weast, Secretary/Treasurer
Absent:	Mr. Gabriel Romero

Re: PUBLIC HEARING ON THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENTS PROGRAM AND BOUNDARIES

The following people testified before the Board of Education:

- 1. Jerry Klobukowski, Commissioner of Poolesville
- 2. Larry Giammo, Mayor of Rockville
- 3. Mark Adelman, Montgomery County Civic Federation
- 4. Sharon St. Pierre, Sherwood Cluster
- 5. Melissa Rosenberg, Northeast Consortium
- 6. Nicole Neal, Burnt Mills Elementary School
- 7. Tim Creagan, Cresthaven Elementary School
- 8. Carley Lee, Whitman Cluster
- 9. Jane de Winer, Walter Johnson Cluster
- 10. Alisa Levin, Bethesda-Chevy Chase Cluster
- 11. Allyson Morrison, Watkins Mill Cluster
- 12. Ted Willard, Magruder Cluster
- 13. Linda Dutka, Gaithersburg Cluster
- 14. Leslie Cuneo, Damascus Cluster
- 15. Himanshi Singh
- 16. Carey Apple
- 17. Laura Shoemaker
- 18. Victoria Campbell Carter
- 19. John Moriarty, Walter Johnson High School PTSA
- 20. Sanjay Shastri
- 21. Gail Fredrick
- 22. Steven Stanhope

Board Minutes

- 23. Mark Stunder
- 24. Jun Xu
- 25. Tammy Hertel
- 26. Lee Hertel
- 27. Michael Henry
- 28. Carolyn Gray
- 29. Sue Ápple
- 30. Patrick O'Connell
- 31. Scott Webber
- 32. Sandy Hutto
- 33. David Lyles, Rocky Hill Middle School PTSA
- 34. Ruchi Khanna
- 35. Doty Hills

The Board of Education members asked the following questions:

- 1. Mr. Abrams called to say that he would like to request a follow up from last night's testimony of Mayor Giammo, to the effect of requesting the Board's counsel to advise as to the existing authority available for the City of Rockville to make contributions to schools within its jurisdiction without additional legislation, as it has done in the past vis-à-vis stadium lights, turf management, etc.
- 2. Ms. Cox asked for information on the HVAC at Poolesville High School.
- 3. Ms. Cox requested information from Mr. Giammo on whether any other municipalities have the ability to levy an impact tax.
- 4. Ms. Ervin asked for information on the down spout at Cresthaven Elementary School, and she mentioned the problem with the courtyard.
- 5. Mrs. Navarro said she would submit her questions in writing on November 11, 2005.
- 6. Ms. Cox inquired about the feasibility of replacing the black top at Paint Branch High School.
- 7. Ms. Cox thanked the Walter Johnson Cluster for commenting on the preferred range of enrollment since it is new in the CIP due to the revision of Policy FAA. She asked for a response from staff on the rationale and on what is the change.
- 8. Dr. Haughey asked about the Tech Mod and the aggregate reduction of computers in the Walter Johnson Cluster. Why is that necessary when the system is increasing technology usage?
- 9. Mr. Abrams asked staff to prepare information on Grades 9 and 10 with a range of flexible options for Grade 11 at Clarksburg High School.

The hearing adjourned at 9:15 p.m.

PRESIDENT

SECRETARY

JDW:gr