board room

Board of Education

Meetings

Most Recent Meetings

Monday, November 19
Friday, November 16
  • Facilities and Boundaries Work Session
Thursday, November 15
  • Facilities and Boundaries Work Session (Postponed to November 16, 2018, at 9:00 a.m.)

Upcoming Meetings

Meeting Archives

To catch up on meetings, browse the archives. You'll find a video and agenda to review past Board actions and discussions.

Watch BOE videos
Windows Media icon with Windows Media Player

How to Search for Board of Education Materials

Please Note: As of December 9, 2014 the webcast has been deemed the official meeting minutes. Informational summaries for the meetings are available.

All Board of Education documents, agendas, informational summaries and other meeting materials are in BoardDocs. The search for those materials can be found at this link.

Meeting Information

board room

Where are Meetings Held?

Road Sign IconCarver Educational Services Center (CESC)
850 Hungerford Drive
Rockville, MD 20850
Directions

How Can I Participate?

Get involved, learn how

Meeting Cancellations

Board meetings are cancelled if central offices are closed.

Board of Education Meetings

Meeting Calendar 2018-2019

Mon, July 09 07:00 PM Swearing-in of Student Board Member (CESC Board Room)
Mon, July 16 10:00 AM Strategic Planning Committee (Cancelled)
Tue, July 17 12:00 PM Closed Session
02:00 PM Day Business Meeting
Thu, July 19 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee
 
Mon, July 30 03:30 PM Closed Session (Note time change)
05:30 PM Evening Business Meeting
Thu, August 30 09:30 AM Closed Session (Note time change)
02:00 PM Day Business Meeting
Tue, September 11 11:00 AM Closed Session (Note time change)
02:00 PM Day Business Meeting
Wed, September 12 07:00 PM Meeting with MCEA (CESC Auditorium) (Postponed to December 19, 2018)


Thu, September 13 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee
Mon, September 17 10:00 AM Strategic Planning Committee
Tue, September 18 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee

 

Mon, September 24 02:15 PM Closed Session (Note Time Change)
05:00 PM Evening Business Meeting (Note Time Change)
Thu, September 27-Sat, September 29 08:00 AM NSBA CUBE Conference
Mon, October 01 07:00 PM Meeting with MCAAP (30 West Gude Dr., Suite 100, Rockville)

*Meeting not televised

Wed, October 03-Fri, October 05 08:00 AM MABE Conference
Tue, October 09 12:00 PM Closed Session
01:30 PM Day Business Meeting (Note Time Change)
Thu, October 11 10:00 AM Committee on Special Populations
Thu, October 18 07:00 PM Meeting with SEIU Local 500 (CESC Auditorium) (Rescheduled to December 12, 2018)
Tue, October 23 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee
Wed, October 24 07:00 PM Meeting with MCCPTA (CESC Auditorium) (Postponed to December 17, 2018)
Mon, October 29 03:30 PM Closed Session (Note time change)
05:30 PM Evening Business Meeting (including presentation of CIP and preliminary work session)
Wed, October 31 08:30 AM Meeting with Montgomery County Delegation (Postponed to November 28, 2018)
Thu, November 01 03:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Work Session
Mon, November 05 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee
Thu, November 08 06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Hearing (CESC Auditorium)
Mon, November 12 06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Hearing (CESC Auditorium)
Tue, November 13 12:00 PM Closed Session
02:00 PM Day Business Meeting
Thu, November 15 03:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Work Session (Postponed to November 16, 2018, at 9:00 a.m.)
Fri, November 16 09:00 AM Facilities and Boundaries Work Session
Mon, November 19 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee (Note Time Change)
06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Hearing (If alternatives are offered November 16)
Tue, November 27 05:30 PM Facilities and Boundaries Decisions
Wed, November 28 08:30 AM Meeting with Montgomery County Delegation (CESC Auditorium)
* Meeting not televised
Thu, November 29 10:00 AM Strategic Planning Committee
Mon, December 03 01:00 PM Swearing-in of New Board Members (Note Time Change)
  • Webcast
Tue, December 04 12:00 PM Closed Session
02:00 PM Day Business Meeting
Thu, December 06 07:00 PM Meeting with Student Groups (Rescheduled to December 13)

Wed, December 12 02:00 PM Committee on Special Populations
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
07:00 PM Meeting with SEIU Local 500 (CESC Auditorium)
  • Agenda 
Thu, December 13 07:00 PM Meeting with Student Groups (CESC Auditorium)
  • Agenda
* Meeting not televised
Mon, December 17 07:00 PM Meeting with MCCPTA (CESC Auditorium)
  • Agenda

* Meeting not televised

Wed, December 19 07:00 PM Meeting with MCEA (CESC Auditorium)
  • Agenda
     * Meeting not televised
Mon, January 07 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
02:00 PM Strategic Planning Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, January 08 12:00 PM Closed Session
02:00 PM Day Business Meeting
Wed, January 09 06:00 PM Operating Budget Hearing (CESC, Auditorium)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Mon, January 14 06:00 PM Operating Budget Hearing (CESC, Auditorium)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, January 17 03:00 PM Operating Budget Work Session
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, January 22 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, January 24 03:00 PM Operating Budget Work Session
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, February 05 10:00 AM Committee on Special Populations
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Wed, February 06 07:00 PM Sherwood Cluster Meeting
  • Agenda
* Meeting not televised
Tue, February 12 12:00 PM Closed Session
02:00 PM Day Business Meeting - Adoption of Recommended Operating Budget
Thu, February 21 07:00 PM Seneca Valley Cluster Meeting
  • Agenda
* Meeting not televised
Mon, February 25 04:00 PM Closed Session
05:30 PM Evening Business Meeting (including presentation on Facilities and Boundaries)
Mon, March 04 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, March 05 07:00 PM Paint Branch Cluster Meeting
  • Agenda
*  Meeting not televised
Thu, March 07 06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Hearing (CESC Auditorium)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Mon, March 11 10:00 AM Strategic Planning Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, March 12 12:00 PM Closed Session
02:00 PM Day Business Meeting
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, March 14 05:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Work Session
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Wed, March 20 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Hearing (if needed) (CESC Auditorium)
Mon, March 25 04:00 PM Closed Session
05:30 PM Evening Business Meeting - Facilities and Boundaries Decisions
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Sat, March 30-Mon, April 01 08:00 AM NSBA Annual Conference
Tue, April 09 12:00 PM Closed Session
02:00 PM Day Business Meeting
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, April 11 07:00 PM Einstein Cluster Meeting
  • Agenda
* Meeting not televised
Mon, April 15 07:00 PM Northwest Cluster Meeting
  • Agenda
* Meeting not televised
Mon, April 29 04:00 PM Closed Session
05:30 PM Evening Business Meeting
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Wed, May 01 10:00 AM Committee on Special Populations
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, May 02 06:00 PM Distinguished Service Awards (CESC Auditorium) * Meeting not televised
Mon, May 06 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, May 07 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, May 09 07:00 PM Damascus Cluster Meeting
  • Agenda
* Meeting not televised
Mon, May 13 10:00 AM Strategic Planning Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, May 14 12:00 PM Closed Session
02:00 PM Day Business Meeting
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Wed, May 15 06:00 PM Meeting with MCAAP (30 West Gude Dr., Suite 100, Rockville)
  • Agenda
* Meeting not televised
Thu, May 30 04:00 PM Closed Session
05:30 PM Evening Business Meeting
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, June 06 05:00 PM Ceremony Honoring Retirees
  • Agenda
* Meeting not televised
Mon, June 10 10:00 AM Strategic Planning Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, June 11 12:00 PM Closed Session
02:00 PM Day Business Meeting
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Mon, June 24 04:00 PM Closed Session
05:30 PM Evening Business Meeting
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, June 27 10:00 AM Committee on Special Populations
  • Agenda
  • Webcast