MONTGOMERY COUNTY COUNCIL OF PTAS BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

Thursday, October 23, 2014 7:00 – 9:00 p.m., Carver Auditorium

MEETING AGENDA

Time	Activity	Presenter
7:00 p.m.	Meet & Greet	All
7:25 p.m.	Welcome	Frances Frost
	Introductions	Philip Kauffman
7:30 p.m.	Key Goals for MCCPTA 2014-15	Frances Frost
	Membership	
	• Engagement	
	Advocacy	
	Civility	
7.25	W. L. C. DOE	DI 'I' IZ CC
7:35 p.m.	Key Issues for BOE	Philip Kauffman
	Current concerns of BOE	
	 Important updates of interest to MCPS parents 	
	and students	
7:40 p.m.	Small Group Discussions	All
8:30 p.m.	BOE – MCCPTA Joint Efforts	Philip Kauffman
	How can BOE and MCCPTA work together in achieving mutual objectives?	Frances Frost
9:00 p.m.	Adjournment	

Areas of concern discussed during MCCPTA Summer Area Meetings

- Advocacy for funding CIP, Operating Budget
- Curriculum 2.0 Implementation
- Engagement of all parents, increased outreach efforts for under-represented families
- Special Programs in MCPS Magnet, Application, Immersion, etc.
- Student Safety
- Technology incorporation into curriculum, BYOD

ATTENDEES

Board of Education

President – Philip Kauffman (At-Large)

Vice President – Patricia O'Neill (District 3)

Shirley Brandman (At-Large)

Dr. Judith Docca (District 1)

Rebecca Smondrowski (District 2)

Christopher Barclay (District 4)

Michael A. Durso (District 5)

Dahlia Huh (Student Member – Clarksburg High School)

MCCPTA Board of Directors – 2014-15

MCCPTA Officers

President Frances Frost
VP Educational Issues Michelle Gluck

VP / Administration Kellie Schoolar-Reynolds

VP/Legislation Lynne Harris VP/ Programs Paul Geller

Treasurer Susan Burkinshaw Recording Secretary -BOD Karen Collishaw

Recording Secretary -DA OPEN

Past MCCPTA President Janette Gilman

<u>Area Vice President</u> Sumbal Sheldon

Damascus Alaina Dahlin

Jennifer McDonald

Gaithersburg Carrie Bohrer

Meredith Shankle

Magruder Patrick Dunn

Dawn Trahern

Watkins Mill Tammy Clark

Vicky Miller

Area Vice President Kevin David

Clarksburg Sue Amick

Maria Ho

Stephen Wilson
Northwest David Griffith

David Griffith Revonne Johnson

Quince Orchard Erin Clegg

Bill Enright

Sumbal Sheldon Seneca Valley Shelby Bidwell

Jeri Crist

<u>Area Vice President</u> Cheryl Moss Herman

Churchill Meena Chandrasekhar

	Patricia Hickey Warren
	Leslie Jacobs
Richard Montgomery	Lynn Perry Parker
	Matthew Swibel
	Jennifer Young
Poolesville	Dawn Albert
1 0010571110	Donna Lowell
Rockville	Melissa McKenna
Wootton	Beth Ann Bergsmark
Woonin	Chris Cartwright
	Kellie Schoolar-Reynolds
	Reme Benoolar Reynolds
Area Vice President NEC	Mark Pharoah
Blake	Cheryl Minus
	Hollie Taylor
Paint Branch	Princess Akwura-Igwebuike
	Larry Edmonds
	Regenia Ramsey-Outlaw
Sherwood	Paul Geller
Springbrook	OPEN
Area Vice President	Scott Harper
Blair	Amber Khan
	Lana Pauls
	Cori Vanchieri
Einstein	Belford Lawson
	Chris Rutledge
	Jean Claude Zenklusen
Kennedy	Therese Gibson
	Amie Wohlfarth
Northwood	Nate Conroy
	Daria Daniel
	Julie Grimes
Area Vice President	Jennifer Cope
B-CC	Rafe Petersen
	Laurie Rosen
	Dana Wright
Walter Johnson	Renee Howell
	Johanna Mills
	Joe Piff
Walt Whitman	Jill Chenok
	Ann Gallagher
	Jennifer McCarthy
Wheaton	OPEN
Standing Committee	
Standing Committees CIP	Charyl Pairce
Curriculum	Cheryl Peirce Amanda Graver
Curriculum	Allialida Gravel

OPEN

Tammy Clark

Elementary Education Secondary Education

Student Service Learning (SSL) **OPEN** Gifted Child Lang Lin

Kim Testa

Susan Burkinshaw Health and Safety Donna Pfeiffer

Guidance and Counseling **OPEN**

Membership and Engagement Yvonne VanLowe

Multicultural Awareness Antonio Hernandez-Cardoso

Janet Sanchez

ESOL Antonio Hernandez-Cardoso

ESOL Janet Sanchez

Operating Budget **OPEN**

Outreach Events Dave Lechner **Special Education** Jeanne Taylor

Administrative Committees

Administrative

Victoria Kelly Awards

Bylaws OPEN Nominating **OPEN** Student Involvement **OPEN** Training Paul Geller

Kellie Schoolar-Reynolds

Communications

Cable TV **OPEN** e-Communications Rick Chimera

Public Relations John Grimes Dean Fiala Webmaster

Legislative

Advocacy Events OPEN Legislative **OPEN**

Programs

Cultural Arts Priscilla Peterson Pres & Principals Dinner Michelle Lacey Reflections Chris McDermott