Rockville, Maryland November 20, 1980

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Thursday, November 20, 1980, at 7:10 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Dr. Daryl W. Shaw, President in the

Chair Mr. Joseph R. Barse

Mr. Blair G. Ewing
Dr. Marian L. Greenblatt

Miss Traci Williams
Mrs. Carol F. Wallace
Mrs. Eleanor D. Zappone

Absent: Mrs. Elizabeth W. Spencer

Others Present: Dr. Edward Andrews, Superintendent of

Schools

Re: Public Hearing on the Policy on

Early Childhood Education

The following individuals appeared before the Board:

1. Mr. Yale Wiesberg, Belmont Elementary School PTA

- 2. Ms. Priscilla Mason and Ms. Linda Rieger, Gifted and Talented Association of Montgomery County
- 3. Mr. William Roberge, Fallsmead Elementary School PTA
- 4. Mr. Frederick McCoy, Individual
- 5. Mrs. Nancy Fjellstedt, Individual
- 6. Mrs. Elain Druckenmiller, Westover Elementary School PTA
- 7. Mrs. Joan Weiss, Individual
- 8. Mrs. Sally Weiss, Individual
- 9. Miss Lisa Chertkov, Individual
- 10. Dr. David Eberly, Montgomery County Education Association
- 11. Mr. J. Patrick Reilly, Montgomery County Association for Children with Learning Disabilities
- 12. Mrs. Pat McGucken, Kensington Elementary School PTA
- 13. Mrs. Ann Goldstein, Organization of Child Care Directors of Montgomery County
- 14. Mrs. Roberta Deckelbaum, Individual
- 15. Mrs. Sally Murajchik, Arcola Elementary School PTA
- 16. Miss Barbara Strang, Individual
- 17. Mrs. Wendy Cimmet, Wood Acres Elementary School PTA
- 18. Mr. Austin Heyman, Commission on Children and Youth
- 19. Mrs. Millie Grant, Department of Family Resources
- 20. Mrs. Nancy Prevost, Greenwood Elementary School PTA
- 21. Mrs. Judy Silverman, Woodlin/Woodside PTA
- 22. Mrs. Reva Jolovitz, Whitman High School PTSA
- 23. Mrs. Martha Wilson, Individual
- 24. Mrs. Cordie Goldstein, Einstein High School PTSA
- 25. Mrs. Donna Wilcox, Newport Middle School PTSA

- 26. Mr. Jim Gorman, Rock Creek Palisades Elementary School
- 27. Mrs. Won Everett, Individual
- 28. Mrs. Joan Israel, Elementary School Administrators Association
- 29. Mrs. Lea Mazade, Garrett Park Elementary School PTA
- 30. Ms. Eleanor Karpe Shutak and Ms. Connie Nantkes, Montgomery County Branch, Association for Childhood Education International
- 31. Mrs. June King, Individual
- 32. Mr. Clifford Baacke, Individual
- 33. Mrs. Bonnie L. Fogel, Burning Tree Elementary School PTA and Parents for Creative Enrichment
- 34. Mrs. Carolyn Wakefield, Montgomery Child Day Care Association
- 35. Mrs. Diane Pokrif, Individual
- 36. Dr. Norris Alderson, Twinbrook Elementary School PTA
- 37. Mrs. Kay Jones, Concerned Citizens for the Arts in the Public Schools of Montgomery County, Maryland
- 38. Mrs. Susan Alderson, Individual
- 39. Mrs. Pam Shirley, Olney Elementary School PTA
- 40. Mrs. Vicki Bowers, Individual
- 41. Mrs. Lois Williams, Individual
- 42. Mrs. Edith Ching, Greater Colesville Area
- 43. Mrs. Louise Lindsay, Individual

Re: Adjournment

The president adjourned the meeting at 11 p.m.

President

Secretary

EA:ml