Rockville, Maryland January 19, 1981

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Monday, January 19, 1981, at 8 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Mrs. Carol F. Wallace, President

in the Chair

Mr. Joseph R. Barse Mr. Blair G. Ewing

Dr. Marian L. Greenblatt
Mrs. Suzanne K. Peyser
Mrs. Elizabeth W. Spencer
Miss Traci Williams

Miss Traci Williams Mrs. ELeanor D. Zappone

Absent: None

Others Present: Dr. Edward Andrews, Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Harry Pitt, Deputy Superintendent

Dr. Robert S. Shaffner, Executive Assistant

Re: PUBLIC HEARING ON FY 1982 OPERATING BUDGET

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Mrs. Frances Henkels, Individual
- 2. Dr. Frank Masci, Individual
- 3. Mr. John Lewis, Individual
- 4. Ms. Doris Wray, MCEA Liaison Speech and Language Pathologists
- 5. Ms. Christy Swiger, MCPS Speech and Language Pathologists
- 6. Mr. Reginald Coleman, Rock Terrace PTG
- 7. Dr. Sarah Griggs, Individual
- 8. Mr. Jon Shelton
- 9. Mrs. Zoe Lefkowitz, President, MCCPTA
- 10. Mr. Steve Scharf, Taylor Learning Center PTA
- 11. Dr. Gilbert August, MCCPTA Senior High School Committee
- 12. Mr. Jim Breiling, Individual
- 13. Dr. J. David Eberley, Montgomery County Education Association
- 14. Dr. Fred Spahr, American Speech/Language/Hearing Association
- 15. Mrs. Judith Borton, Continuum Education Advisory Committee
- 16. Mrs. Florine Morris, Individual
- 17. Mrs. Hope Eastman, Rosemary Hills Primary School Parent Assembly
- 18. Mr. Brad Bryan, Carl Sandburg Learning Center
- 19. Mrs. Joan Karasik, Montgomery County Association for Retarded Citizens
- 20. Mrs. Joan Israel, Elementary School Administrators Association
- 21. Mrs. Gayle Pincus, Montgomery County Mental Health Association
- 22. Mrs. Barb Rubin, DuFief Elementary School PTA
- 23. Ms. Leona O'Reilly, Association for Hearing Impaired Children
- 24. Mr. Carlton Robinson, Montgomery County Taxpayers League
- 25. Mr. James Granum, Individual

- 26. Ms. Diane Brasile and Ms. Mab Jansky, MCCPTA Special Needs Committee
- 27. Mrs. Helen Crites, Watkins Mill Elementary School PTA

Re: ADJOURNMENT

The president adjourned the meeting at 11:15 p.m.

-----President

-----

Secretary

EA:ml