APPROVED 5-1981

Rockville, Maryland January 22, 1981

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Thursday, January 22, 1981, at 8:10 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Mrs. Carol F. Wallace, President

in the Chair
Mr. Blair G. Ewing
Mrs. Suzanne K. Peyser
Mrs. Eleanor D. Zappone

Absent: Mr. Joseph R. Barse

Dr. Marian L. Greenblatt Mrs. Elizabeth W. Spencer

Miss Traci Williams

Others Present: Dr. Edward Andrews, Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Harry Pitt, Deputy Superintendent

Re: ANNOUNCEMENTS

Mrs. Wallace announced that Mr. Barse was absent because of a death in his family and Mrs. Spencer was away on a business trip that had been scheduled prior to the scheduling of the third public hearing. Mrs. Zappone stated that Dr. Greenblatt had sent her regrets. Mrs. Wallace explained that all absent members would be provided with copies of the testimony.

Re: PUBLIC HEARING ON FY 1982 OPERATING BUDGET

The following individuals appeared before the Board:

- 1. Mrs. Lois Williams, Cabin John Junior High School PTA
- 2. Mrs. Carolyn Snowden, Community Action Board
- 3. Mrs. Betty Edelson, Advisory Committee on Counseling and Guidance
- 4. Mrs. Diane Jones, Rosemary Hills Cluster Coordinating Committee
- 5. Mr. George F. Will, McKenney Hills Learning Center
- 6. Mr. Ward Morrow, Individual
- 7. Mr. Terrence McLaughlin, Redland Middle School PTA
- 8. Mrs. Mary Haley, Winston Churchill High School PTSA
- 9. Mr. Keith Prouty, Walter Johnson High School PTSA
- 10. Mrs. Louise Feigin, Leland Junior High School PTA
- 11. Mrs. Patricia Tomlan, Individual
- 12. Mrs. Penny Finch, Individual
- 13. Mrs. Joan Robisch, Wootton High School PTSA
- 14. Mr. Martin Brubaker, Individual
- 15. Mrs. Pearl Drain, Montgomery County Middle School Association
- 16. Mrs. Barbara DeLouise, Montgomery County Youth Orchestra Association

- 17. Dr. Jorge Ribas, Ontgomery County Civic Federation
- 18. Mr. William Whalen, Stephen Knolls PTA
- 19. Mr. George Sauer, Individual
- 20. Mrs. Pat Brink, Parents and Students of Phoenix School
- 21. Mr. Peter Handford, Individual
- 22. Mrs. Carolyn Ruhl, Parent Advisory Group for Mark Twain
- 23. Mrs. Judith Hagar, Longview Elementary School PTA
- 24. Mrs. Janet Carr, East Silver Spring Elementary School PTA
- 25. Ms. Joan Cohen, Individual
- 26. Mrs. Adrian Carr, Stedwick Elementary School PTA
- 27. Mrs. Diane Jones, Rollingwood Elementary School PTA
- 28. Mr. Vincent Foo, MCCSSE
- 29. Mr. Ludwig Smith, Concord School
- 30. Mrs. Judy Waldman, Parent Infant Early Intervention Program

Re: ADJOURNMENT

The president adjourned the meeting at 10:55 p.m.

President	
Secretary	

EA:ml