Rockville, Maryland February 18, 1981

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Wednesday, February 18, 1981, at 8:10 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Mrs. Carol F. Wallace, President in the Chair

Mr. Joseph R. Barse Mr. Blair G. Ewing

Dr. Marian L. Greenblatt Mrs. Suzanne K. Peyser Miss Traci Williams Mrs. Eleanor D. Zappone

Absent: Mrs. Elizabeth W. Spencer

Others Present: Dr. Edward Andrews, Superintendent of

Schools

Dr. Harry Pitt, Deputy Superintendent

Re: Announcement

Mrs. Wallace announced that Mrs. Spencer was out of town on business; however, she would read the testimony when she returned.

Re: Public Hearing on Draft Policy Statement on Long-range Educational Facilities Plan

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Mr. Ronald Overmann, Blair Advisory Council
- 2. Mr. Howard Stein, Sligo Community Action Committee
- 3. Mrs. Marion Long, Rosemary Hills Cluster Coordinating Committee
- 4. Mr. Michael Horne, Rollingwood Elementary School PTA
- 5. Mr. Andy Manatos, Western Junior High School PTA
- 6. Mrs. Louise Feigan, Leland Junior High School PTA
- 7. Mrs. Jane Klubes, Newport Middle School PTA
- 8. Mrs. Joan Weiss, Individual
- 9. Mrs. Pat Lawson, Einstein High School PTSA
- 10. Mr. Dick Kaslow, Rollingwood School Action Committee
- 11. Mrs. Zoe Lefkowitz, MCCPTA
- 12. Mrs. Pat Baptiste, Chevy Chase Elementary School PTA
- 13. Mrs. Nancy Aronson, Sligo Junior High School PTSA
- 14. Mrs. Sharon DiFonzo, Rock Creek Valley Elementary School PTA
- 15. Mr. Sheldon Fishman, Individual
- 16. Mrs. Barbara Faigin, Woodlin/Woodside PTA
- 17. Mrs. Leona O'Reilly, Montgomery County Association for Hearing Impaired Children
- 18. Mr. Rich Krieg, Wheaton Woods Elementary School PTA
- 19. Mrs. Nancy May, Forest Grove Elementary School PTA

- 20. Mr. Paul O'Connor, Individual
- 21. Mr. Kenneth Dretchen, Forest Knolls Elementary School PTA
- 22. Mrs. Hope Eastman, Rosemary Hills Primary Assembly
- 23. Mr. Seth Ratliff, Four Corner Elementary School PTA
- 24. Reverend Laird Thomason, Lynnbrook Elementary School PTA

Re: Adjournment

The president adjourned the meeting at 10:35 p.m.

President

Secretary

EA:ml