ORIGINAL Rockville, Maryland January 18, 1982 4-1982 The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Monday, January 18, 1982, at 8:15 p.m. ROLL CALL Mrs. Eleanor D. Zappone, President in Present: the Chair Mr. Joseph R. Barse Mr. Blair G. Ewing Mr. Jonathan Lipson Mrs. Suzanne K. Peyser Mrs. Carol F. Wallace Absent: Dr. Marian L. Greenblatt Mrs. Elizabeth W. Spencer

> Others Present: Dr. Edward Andrews, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Harry Pitt, Deputy Superintendent Mr. Thomas S. Fess, Parliamentarian

> > Re: Announcement

Mrs. Zappone announced that Dr. Greenblatt was ill and Mrs. Spencer was out of town on personal business; however, both had assured her they would read the testimony.

Re: Public Hearing on K-8 Policy

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Richard Millstein, Wayside Elementary School PTA
- 2. Jane Klubes, Newport Middle School PTA
- 3. Sue Goldstein, Burning Tree Elementary School PTA
- 4. Joan Berman, Chevy Chase Elementary School PTA
- 5. Linda Brand, Fox Chapel Elementary School Faculty
- 6. Vi Sheridan, Montgomery County Education Association
- 7. Lesley Gasperow, Beverly Farms Elementary School PTA
- 8. Benne Druckenmiller, Westover Elementary School PTA
- 9. Sue Tolchin, Wyngate Elementary School PTA
- 10. Elaine Goldberg, Hungerford Park Elementary School PTA
- 11. Barry Klein, Concerned Citizens for the Arts in the Public Schools
- 12. Samuel Cushman, Olney Elementary School PTA
- 13. Brenda Sandler, Ashburton Elementary School PTA
- 14. Joyce DeVilbiss, Galway Elementary School PTA
- 15. Neil Shipman, Elementary School Administrators Association
- 16. Vicki Lively, Fox Chapel Elementary School PTA
- 17. Ted Woodcock, Washington Grove Elementary School PTA
- 18. Judy Tankersley, Parkland Junior High School PTA
- 19. Carole Brown, West Rockville Elementary School PTA

Irene McGhee, Highland View Elementary School PTA
Eileen Cotter, Individual
Deborah Lynch, Individual

23. Zoe Lefkowitz, MCCPTA

Re: Adjournment

The president adjourned the meeting at 10:45 p.m.

President

Secretary

EA:mlw