APPROVED 59-1991 Rockville, Maryland November 18, 1991

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Monday, November 18, 1991, at 7:30 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Mr. Blair G. Ewing, President in the Chair Mrs. Frances Brenneman Dr. Alan Cheung Mrs. Sharon DiFonzo Mrs. Carol Fanconi Ms. Ana Sol Gutierrez Mrs. Catherine E. Hobbs Mr. Shervin Pishevar

Absent: None

Others Present: Dr. Paul L. Vance, Superintendent Mrs. Katheryn W. Gemberling, Deputy Dr. H. Philip Rohr, Deputy Mr. Thomas S. Fess, Parliamentarian

#indicates student vote does not count. Four votes are needed for adoption.

Re: PUBLIC HEARING CIP AND FACILITIES PROCESS - AREAS 3 AND 2

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Charles White, Mayor of Laytonsville
- 2. David Humpton, City of Gaithersburg
- 3. Donna McDowell, Greater Laytonsville Civic Association
- 4. Ken Salaets, Wexford Homeowners
- 5. Paul Becks, Waters Landing Homeowners
- 6. Margaret Gehlert and Natalie Wilson, Gunners View Homeowners
- 7. Joe Lesson, Middlebrook Manor Civic Association

Re: AREA 3 TESTIMONY

- 1. Rick Wood, Area 3 Vice President
- 2. Nancy King, Watkins Mill Cluster
- Shelley Johnson, Sandy Kopinski, and Susan Blankenship, Seneca Valley Cluster
- 4. Paula Fitzpatrick, Quince Orchard Cluster
- 5. John Jamieson, Poolesville Cluster
- 6. Larry Rothenburg, Richard Montgomery Cluster
- 7. Linda Rigsby, Eileen O'Shea, Cheryl O'Hara, and Marlin Strand, Gaithersburg Cluster
- 8. Nancy Little, Damascus Cluster

Re: AREA 2 TESTIMONY

- 1. Mildred Amer, Montgomery County Gifted and Talented Association
- 2. Jay Wood, Wheaton Cluster
- 3. Cindy Waetjen, Springbrook Cluster
- 4. Cillie Gerstenzang and Fred Ambrose, Sherwood Cluster
- 5. Sharon Matsui, Rockville Cluster
- 6. Cyndy Brewer, Paint Branch Cluster
- 7. Celia Henderson, Magruder Cluster
- 8. Susan Stracquatanio and Pam Wilson, Kennedy Cluster

Re: ADJOURNMENT

The president adjourned the meeting at 11:15 p.m.

PRESIDENT

SECRETARY

PLV:mlw