The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Tuesday, January 21, 1992, at 7:10 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Mrs. Catherine Hobbs, President

in the Chair

Mrs. Frances Brenneman

Dr. Alan Cheung
Mrs. Sharon DiFonzo
Mr. Blair G. Ewing
Mrs. Carol Fanconi
Ms. Ana Sol Gutierrez

Absent: Mr. Shervin Pishevar

Others Present: Dr. Paul L. Vance, Superintendent

Mrs. Katheryn W. Gemberling, Deputy

Dr. H. Philip Rohr, Deputy

Mr. Thomas S. Fess, Parliamentarian

#indicates student vote does not count. Four votes are needed for adoption.

Re: PUBLIC HEARING ON OPERATING BUDGET

PROPOSALS FOR THE SCHOOL AND FISCAL

YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 1993

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Sharon Friedman, MCCPTA
- 2. Luella Mast, Area 2 Vice President, MCCPTA
- 3. Cindy Waetjen and Ann Schikert, Springbrook Cluster
- 4. Cillie Gerstenzang, Sherwood Cluster
- 5. Claude Matsui, Rockville Cluster
- 6. Cyndy Brewer, Paint Branch Cluster
- 7. Anna Nevius, Magruder Cluster
- 8. Lisa Levin Itté, Kennedy Cluster
- 9. Nan McIntyre, Wheaton Cluster
- 10. David Layer, Individual
- 11. Joseph Tiso, Individual
- 12. Kerry Kern, Individual
- 13. Phyllis Parks Robinson, MCEA
- 14. Joan Karasik, Montgomery County Association for Retarded Citizens
- 15. Lorie Asher, Individual
- 16. Lisa Baach, PISCES
- 17. Michael Kovac, Richard Montgomery Coalition
- 18. Jay Headman, MCAASP
- 19. Lois Bell, ESAA

- 20. Ben Marlin, SSAA
- 21. Alice Arnesen, M.C. Educational Media Specialists
 Association
- 22. Vincent Foo, MCCSSE
- 23. Emilio Perche Rivas, Spanish-speaking Community of Maryland
- 24. Bill Harris, Elementary Music Teachers
- 25. John Sheridan, Individual
- 26. Alyson Wilson, Outdoor Education Association
- 27. Susan Friedman and Lisa Loeb, Learning Disabilities Association
- 28. Mark Caruso, Treatment and Learning Centers
- 29. Bonnie Cullison, Speech/Language Liaison Committee
- 30. Roscoe Nix, Individual
- 31. Hanley Norment, NAACP
- 32. Peter Gracyalny, Individual
- 33. Bruce Goldensohn, Individual
- 34. Manish Shah, Greta Mendelson, Marilyn Schuman, Individuals
- 35. Owen Nichols, African American Festival of Academic Excellence
- 36. Ivan Mendizabal, Hispano American Chamber of Commerce
- 37. Debbie Crone, Individual

Re: ADJOURNMENT

The president adjourned the meeting at 11:05 p.m.

PRESIDENT	
SECRETARY	

PLV:mlw