The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Wednesday, January 22, 1992, at 7 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Mrs. Catherine Hobbs, President

in the Chair

Mrs. Frances Brenneman

Dr. Alan Cheung
Mrs. Sharon DiFonzo
Mr. Blair G. Ewing
Mrs. Carol Fanconi
Ms. Ana Sol Gutierrez
Mr. Shervin Pishevar

Absent: None

Others Present: Dr. Paul L. Vance, Superintendent

Dr. H. Philip Rohr, Deputy

Mr. Thomas S. Fess, Parliamentarian

#indicates student vote does not count. Four votes are needed for adoption.

Re: PUBLIC HEARING ON OPERATING BUDGET

PROPOSALS FOR THE SCHOOL AND FISCAL

YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 1993

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Nancy Little, Damascus Cluster
- 2. Tookie Gentilcore, Area 3 Vice President, MCCPTA
- 3. Linda Rigsby, Gaithersburg Cluster
- 4. Larry Rothenberg, Richard Montgomery Cluster
- 5. Susan De Messieres, Poolesville Cluster
- 6. Paula FitzPatrick, Quince Orchard Cluster
- 7. Carolyn Leclaire, Seneca Valley Cluster
- 8. Nancy King, Watkins Mill Cluster
- 9. Rick Wood, Area 3 Vice President, MCCPTA
- 10. Michael Richman, Community Coalition for the Schools
- 11. Frederick Wood, Individual
- 12. Mark Amberg, Individual
- 13. Billie Cirrincione, Montgomery Blair Boosters Club
- 14. Susan Clark, Alliance for the Mentally Ill
- 15. Ross Capon, Individual
- 16. Linda Keder, Montgomery County Special Needs Preschool Council
- 17. Kermit Burnett, Chapter I
- 18. Nancy Schneider, League of Women Voters
- 19. Judy Amick, Montgomery County Psychologists Association
- 20. Bessie Douglas, Montgomery County Pupil Personnel Workers Association

- 21. David Fishback, Gifted and Talented Association
- 22. Marilyn Van Degrift, Superintendent's Advisory Committee on Gifted and Talented
- 23. Carole Lee Kin, PADI
- 24. Laura Stoskin, Individual
- 25. Andy Bober, Individual
- 26. Aaron Tievsky, Individual
- 27. Rebecca Carroll and Liz Roth, Montgomery County Autism Society
- 28. Juanita Lott, Individual
- 29. George Ting, American Coalition for Assistance/ Mentor Programs
- 30. Charles Han, Organization of Chinese Americans
- 31. Margaret Schweitzer, AAUW
- 32. Katy Ross and Christopher Lees, Individuals
- 33. Irving Lipskind, Commission for People Who Are Disabled
- 34. Edgar Gonzalez, Advisory Committee on Minority Student Education

Re: ADJOURNMENT

The president adjourned the meeting at 10:25 p.m.

PRESIDENT	
SECRETARY	

PLV:mlw