The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Thursday, January 23, 1992, at 7:10 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Mrs. Catherine Hobbs, President

in the Chair

Mrs. Frances Brenneman

Dr. Alan Cheung Mrs. Sharon DiFonzo Mr. Blair G. Ewing Mrs. Carol Fanconi Ms. Ana Sol Gutierrez Mr. Shervin Pishevar

Absent: None

Dr. Paul L. Vance, Superintendent Others Present:

Mrs. Katheryn W. Gemberling, Deputy

Dr. H. Philip Rohr, Deputy

Mr. Thomas S. Fess, Parliamentarian

#indicates student vote does not count. Four votes are needed for adoption.

> Re: PUBLIC HEARING ON OPERATING BUDGET

PROPOSALS FOR THE SCHOOL AND FISCAL

YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 1993

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

Walt Lange, Wootton Cluster

5-1992

- Delegate Peter Franchot, Individual
- Linda Lang, Whitman Cluster
- Susan Olson and Jean Danielson, Walter Johnson Cluster 4.
- 5. Margaret Ascienzo, Albert Einstein Cluster
- 6. Lucie Campbell, Winston Churchill Cluster
- Sandra Nakamura, Laura Steinberg, and Barbara Henry, 7. Blair Cluster
- Holly Joseph, Linna Barnes, Richard Bohrer, and Suzanne 8. Schiffman, B-CC Cluster
- 9. Josh Evans and Charles McCullough, II, MCR and MCJC
- Robyn Baron, Montgomery County Children with Attention 10. Deficit Disorders
- Warren Rolle, Bonnie Johnson, and Fredis Garcia, Head Start 11.
- Judith Borten, Special and Alternative Education Advisory 12. Committee
- Stephanie Mauck, Individual 13.
- 14. Riley Chung, ESOL Bilingual Advisory Committee
- 15. Michael Richman, CCAPS
- Patrick Okura, Japanese American Citizens League 16.
- 17. Irene Lee, Organization of Pan-Asian American Women

- 18. Nguyen Minh Chau, National Association for Asian Pacific American Education
- 19. Duc Duong, Vietnamese Maryland Mutual Assistance Association
- 20. Nancy Schultz, Interrelated Arts
- 21. Charlene Eames, Montgomery County Art Educators Association
- 22. Aimée Timmons, Individual
- 23. Doug Dubé, Individual
- 24. Todd Cohen, Individual
- 25. Sharron Biegalski, Individual
- 26. Steve Willey, Parents of Gifted/LD Students
- 27. Alan Keyes, Individual
- 28. Wallace Fung, Individual
- 29. Jerry McCarthy, Individual
- 30. Bill Ott, Individual
- 31. May Hardy, Individual
- 32. Stephanie Wright, Commission on Children and Youth
- 33. Malik M. Chaka, African-American Parent/Community Education Consortium
- 34. Paul Manchester, Blair Magnet Advisory Committee
- 35. Nancy Brown, Montgomery County Career Information Assistants
- 36. Silvio Zuluaga, Hispanic Alliance

Re: ADJOURNMENT

The president adjourned the meeting at 11:35 p.m.

| PRESIDENT | |
|-----------|--|
| | |
| | |
| | |
| SECRETARY | |

PLV:mlw